Accredited (Grade-‘B++’) 2nd Cycle, UGC affiliation under section 2F and 12B of the UGC Act



   Admission Notification for B.voc Sem-1 for the session 2018-19

  ||    Admission Regulation for Six semester B.A, B.Sc, B.Com Honours and General Course under CBCS Scheme, 2018-19


The journey of the Department of Commerce(B.COM) started in the year 2000 with the introduction of B.COM Pass Course and six years later the B.COM Honours Course was introduced in July 2006 under the University of Calcutta. However in 2009 this College and the department changed the affiliation from University of Calcutta to newly opened West Bengal State University at Barasat.

At present four teachers are involved in teaching in the department. Till date the Seminar library is furnished with about 200 books. Most of the teachers of the department are not restricted to college work but they are also involved as examiners, question paper setters of both the college & university conducted examinations. In the last 3 years the percentage of successful students in the University Honours examination is over 80 percent. The department had successfully organized a UGC sponsored State Level Seminar on 6th December 2012.

The department of Commerce has also held “teacher exchange programme” with the department of Economics. Relevant photos are there in the photo gallery. Educational tours are conducted to inculcate interest in students. Educational tours like bank visit and industry visit are conducted throughout the year.

The students are very enthusiastic in co- curricular activities like quizzes and debate. Special lectures, workshops and awareness programs are usually conducted to enrich student’s knowledge. Wall magazines are put up every year by students on different Commerce related topics. “Synergy :The Hidden Force”, a departmental magazine manifests the students’ knowledge and thinking. Career counseling programs in collaboration with various organizations are being held from time to time. Through all these activities we hope that our students will be highly enlightened and they would be highly motivated in building a very successful and prosperous career.

List of Faculties

Avik Ranjan Roy

Dr. Rajib Lahiri

Manik Sona Roy

Swarnali Bandyopadhyay

Photo Gallery

Skip to toolbar