Accredited (Grade-‘B++’) 2nd Cycle, UGC affiliation under section 2F and 12B of the UGC Act



   Online bids for E-tender published on 18/03/2019 are invited for purchase of lab equipments and books


Derozio Memorial College started in the year 1996 in Ramkumar Vidyalaya, Kalipark with Arts and Science. Mathematics (General) was introduced in March’ 1997 as a subject in the Science Stream. Later our college was shifted to its new building at the present premises on the Rajarhat Road. To provide the need of the local backward and poor students, Mathematics Honours has been introduced in September’ 2002. The faculty members of the present Mathematics Department consists of two full time , one part time (Govt. Approved) and one guest teacher (Superannuated teacher).

  • Dr. Aloke Pal, M.Sc, B.Ed, M.Phil, Ph.D is an Associate Professor and joined the college on 01.09. 1997.
  • Dr. Goutam Chowdhury, M.Sc, Ph.D Is an Assistant Professor and joined the college on 11.01.2001.
  • Smt. Sampa Sen M.Sc ,B.Ed is a Part Time Teacher(Govt. Approved) and joined the college on 17.08.2010.
  • Sri Bimalendu Sen M.Sc (Superannuated Teacher) is a Guest Professor and joined the college in 2005.

In addition to taking classes and evaluating the progress of the regular students of the Department of Mathematics, the faculty members had other activities at different years. Dr. Aloke Pal took the classes of Business Mathematics and Statistics of the students of the Department of Commerce of this college at the beginning for few years. Dr. Pal taught the students of the Department of Mathematics of East Calcutta Girls College & Bongaon Dinabandhu Mahavidyalaya in the Teacher—Exchange Programme. Dr. Pal also imparted his knowledge to cover the syllabus of Statistics of the Dept of Education of this college. At present Dr, Pal has engaged himself to teach Integral Equations of the Mathematics in M.Sc syllabus of NSOU.

Faculty members Bimalendu Sen and Sampa Sen both imparted their knowledge to improve the Mathematical background of the SC, ST and OBC students in the Remedial Programme and also helped such classes of college and outside graduate students to prepare the syllabuses of S.S.C to face the S.S.C examination.

Departmental Achivement:

  • In 2013 Habibur Islam obtained 1st class in Mathematics
  • In 2014 Rakesh Ghosh obtained 1st class in Mathematics
  • In 2016 Samim Ahamed obtained 1st class in Mathematics

List of Faculties

Dr. Aloke Pal

Dr. Goutam Chowdhury

Sampa Sen

Photo Gallery

Skip to toolbar